Red Hot Fugazi Peppers?

So I was listening to the radio tonight, as I often do these days (I’ve been getting tired of making decisions about what I want to listen to) and an early decade hit came on, “By The Way” by the Red Hot Chili Peppers. I decided to leave it on, cause I hadn’t heard it in a very long time.

When the verse of the song came in, I felt alarmed, like I had heard this part done by another band that I liked a lot more than RHCP. It dawned on me that this was a near part for part, note for note, beat for beat ripoff of Fugazi‘s “Brendan # 1,” off their classic album Repeater.

Check out the similarities below and tell me what you think! The part in the RHCP song starts at 0:33.

And below is the Fugazi track. The part here is the beat to the whole song. Imagine it slowed down a tiny bit.

Leave a Reply

